top of page

Neutrogena Visibly Clear Spot Proofing Review


I love this brand so much, I just had to review the Visibly Clear spot proofing range which is now finally available in South Africa. The range includes the Visibly Clear spot proofing 2 in 1 wash-mask, a visibly clear spot proofing purifying toner, a visibly clear spot proofing oil-free moisturiser, and the Visibly clear spot proofing daily wash. Anybody who knows me, knows how much I am obsessed and love Neutrogena. I started using the brand 7 years ago.

I started with the Visibly Clear Pink Grapefruit range, which remains my favourite to this day. It's great for everyday use, it is not harsh on your skin and it keeps your skin absolutely clear. Although it's also great, this post is not about the Pink Grapefruit but about the spot proofing range.

I purchased the range about two weeks ago and I have been using it twice everyday. Six months ago, I started breaking out really badly. Like...TERRIBLY! I had the big, inflamed, red, painful bumps on my face, dark spots all over my face, there was no hiding them, it was terrible! I used every product I could think of, which I regret because they all just made my skin very dry. I even went the natural product route, and mixed a few ingredients from the pantry, that was a slow process, (very slow) and I couldn't take it. Sometimes I would try to cover it up with make-up but I just ended up looking like the red velvet Magnum ice cream. LOL!

I'm so glad I can make jokes about it now, because let me tell you, when you're going through something like that, it is not nice. Especially if you're somebody like me, who's obsessed with healthy skin, something like this can really affect you and kill your confidence and self esteem. I didn't like going anywhere, I tried to cover it with different foundations, (which is why I'm now such a foundation junkie), and it didn't work. I just wasn't satisfied.

I later bought the Neutrogena visibly clear pink grapefruit daily scrub, which is known for treating acne prone skin. (below is a link to a quiz you can take if you're prone to acne, to get a personalized acne routine from Neutrogena). I used it until the spot proofing range came out. I don't like changing products due what I've experienced, unless it's in the same family of products and so when spot proofing came out, I was like "this is it"! The range promises to help clear spots (which I have) and defend against new breakouts (which I don't want) and because it's a trusted brand (I mean hello?!) and in the same family, I did not hesitate to buy it.

l use the wash-mask as a cleanser in the morning and as a mask in the evening, then I use the purifying toner and the oil-free moisturiser which is perfect because it doesn't dry out or mattify your skin. Now, I'm happy to say, after just using it for the past two weeks, I am seeing visible results. There is a bit of scarring from the acne, but I'm just glad I don't have to pile on foundation anymore, (foundation is expensive people!) I am so happy with my purchase, I really love the range, it does what it says, my spots are fading and I'm able to go out without any make-up (not all the time though...jeez).

I don't have perfect skin but i do see a difference. I am recommending it, try it for yourself if you have the same problem. Thank me later!

- Neutrogena visibly clear spot proofing range is available at all department stores. I bought mine at Foschini. It was not yet available at Dischem when I purchased it, (and still isn't, went to check) but it's available at Clicks and Checkers.

Prone to acne? Take the quiz!!! https://www.neutrogena.com/acne-quiz.html

bottom of page